Georgi Kay | Interview

040A1132-colour

Originally posted on Emerge Magazine:

We recently caught up with Perth’s Georgi Kay to talk about her new single God of a Girl, upcoming EP ORIGINS and the singer-songwriter’s brief acting role.

1. First of all, congratulations on the new single and forthcoming EP! You must be pretty excited to have fans listen to your new material? 

“Thank you – and yes! I am very excited. So far God Of A Girl is the only piece of the EP currently out for all to hear, and I’ve received lovely comments and reviews so far, so I’m over the moon. I’m looking forward to hearing what everyone thinks of the ORIGINS EP in the next coming months!”

2. You began your music career at a very early age with The Vains, what was that experience like for you? 

“That was many years ago now, a high school band with my mates. It was more a form of release for me, because I couldn’t wait to finish class and get to band practice! It wasn’t until 2010 when I won the WAM Song Of The Year competition in my hometown of Perth that I realised that creating and performing my music was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.”

3. What’s your stance on teenagers starting out early in the music industry? 

“I encourage it. If music is your passion and you love it, then by all means, follow that love and drive that passion. If it makes you genuinely happy – it’s more than worthwhile. However, as much as you want to release your work and show the world who you are and what you’re all about, I wouldn’t be hasty. Take your time and craft your work – collaborate with others and learn. No one should ever feel pressured or unsure about what they love – so I encourage young artists to stay focused, stay humble and most of all have fun!”

4. What can you tell us about the impending EP, in terms of the inspiration and thought process behind it? – How do you believe it differs from your previous EP, In My Mind

“The difference with ORIGINS is that it refers to my origins of who I am as both a human being and an artist. My previous work has never had a real soul-searching concept, or a true beginning “get to know me” vibe – so for me, ORIGINS is basically my soul in listenable form, from beginning to this very moment now. I was inspired to write some of the songs after watching and reading my favourite horror stories, ‘Frankenstein’ and ‘Carrie’, whilst other songs off the EP were inspired by the toxicity in previous relationships, both romantic and otherwise.”

5. Your new track God Of a Girl is said to explore darker themes taken from Stephen King’s Carrie. What was it about the classic that inspired you? 

“I’m very visually inspired when it comes to song-writing. I was watching the film adaptations of the novel, because I love to see how my favourite stories are interpreted into visuals. Both the original film (1976) and the remake (2013) impacted me differently – but the overall theme of abuse and emotional torture is very strong in both films, so having watched them one after the other I was inspired to write a song from a victims point of view.

However, in the films Carrie realises she has telekinetic powers. So whenever she feels an overwhelming sense of anger or embarrassment, her emotions physically manifest into these supernatural powers. And I think that what I loved the most about the story is that those who wronged her get their deserved punishment – and it’s gruesome.

So I was inspired to write this song from a victims perspective, who in her own mind and own world sees herself as this powerful god-like being, capable of anything, impervious to pain and hurt – a force to be reckoned with. Thus God Of A Girl was born.”

6. You’ve got quite a lot on your plate with your music and acting career, how do you manage them both? 

“I’m actually not pursuing acting at all. I’m much more into following and developing my music career, as singing and song-writing is my ultimate love and my only real way of expressing my thoughts and feelings to the outside world. It’s very therapeutic for me.

‘Top Of The Lake’ was a special time in my life – and is the only acting role I’ve played so far. Maybe in the future I’ll look into more roles; I want to learn Swedish because Nordic noir films like ‘Let The Right One In’ are awesome! I’d love to perform in something eerie and freakishly beautiful like that.”

7. How did you get that first initial acting role?

“A music-related friend of mine suggested this audition, told me to take my guitar and play a couple of songs. I had no idea it was for ‘Top Of The Lake’ nor did I even know who Jane Campion was at the time. So I rock up to this audition, a little nervous and wondering which scene in Home And Away or Neighbours I’ll feature in. I get called into the audition room and I see a backdrop, video camera and I’m handed a script. “Alright, let’s take it from this section here,” says the casting chick.

At this point I’m freaking out. I’ve never acted before in my life, and have no idea where I’d even start. I’m also reading this excerpt where my character has to talk to a 12 year old girl who’s heavily pregnant… “This isn’t Home And Away is it,” I say. But something must have worked that day because I got the part a few weeks later, and what an amazing experience it was. Easily one of the most poignant and memorable moments in my life – hands down.”

8. You’ve worked and toured with some pretty big names like Ed Sheeran and Swedish House Mafia’s Axwell – what’s the best piece of advice you’ve received? 

“I wouldn’t say I’ve received any specific advice, other than just watching these crazy talented artists perform and listening to what they’ve got to say. Ed is a really chill guy but he’s also very passionate and driven – knows what he wants. So his determination and willpower is probably one thing I’ve taken on board for myself.”

9. You’re an ARIA award winner, have been nominated for a Grammy and various other awards – do you ever just pinch yourself to see if it’s all real? 

“Sometimes, yeah! I’m very much a “live in the moment” kind of girl, so at the point of receiving these awards I’m absolutely stoked and overwhelmed, but I never really think too much about it afterwards – and I don’t give the feelings time to really sink their teeth in.”

10. With the release of ORIGINS not too long away, can we expect a tour sometime soon? 

“Most certainly. In the new year 2016. I can’t wait to play my EP and new material to everyone out there! It’s an exciting time and I’m really looking forward to seeing what people think.”

God of a Girl is available now on iTunes or free to download here.

Interview by Nizza Munoz 

Leave a Reply

