Ladyhawke on ‘Wild Things’ and the full spectrum of Pip Brown

Originally posted on Chattr:

It’s been three years since Pip Brown – better known as her stage name Ladyhawke – has visited Australian shores, but after some soul searching she’s finally ready to bring fresh new tunes to Aussie fans with a new record in tow.

Her forthcoming third studio album Wild Things is the follow-up to her 2012 release Anxiety and is slated to be released on June 3.

Speaking with Music Insight earlier in the week, Brown said her journey had been a long and sometimes tiring one but she’s finally satisfied with the outcome.

“I’m trying to be a lot more excited – I’ve definitely always struggled with the touring. I mean I enjoy touring and seeing different countries and cities, but I have struggled with the live shows,” Brown said.

The New Zealand native has spoken openly about her battle with alcohol and social anxiety, which often caused her music career to take a hit.

“I suffered from depression and anxiety and I was sick of feeling like that – I needed to make some drastic changes in my life,” she said.

I suffered from depression and anxiety and I was sick of feeling like that – I needed to make some drastic changes in my life.

“I wasn’t being creative at all, I was really struggling and I think this entire album came after I got healthy and started feeling good about myself and enjoying my life,” Brown said.

The singer-songwriter’s new record is the result of an unexpected collaboration with American producer Tommy English (TiëstoDark Waves and Børns).

“Our meeting was by chance,” said Brown.

“We met through a friend. She was making a record and asked if I wanted to do some vocals on it and I said yes. I turned up at the address she gave me and it was Tommy English’s house.”

Brown eventually asked him if he was interested in working on her album and Wild Thingswas born. The pair worked on and off over the course of a year producing songs like A Love SongSweet Fascination and Dangerous. 

With a career spanning 15 years, you’d think Brown would have trouble keeping her mind buzzing with new ideas and concepts for songs.

Well, you’d be wrong.

“The things I get inspired by aren’t really your traditional music things. My music is quite often inspired by watching something as simple as a movie.”

“I find that I sometimes get that excited desperation to make a song after I’ve watched a movie that’s really inspiring. I don’t really get that anywhere else – it’s weird.”

“There were a few key things in my life that happened which made it possible for this album to come to life. I got healthy and stopped drinking and just tried to be happy.”

There were a few key things in my life that happened which made it possible for this album to come to life. I got healthy and stopped drinking and just tried to be happy.

“From my first album, second and third you’ve really got the full spectrum of Pip Brown. This one is definitely happier and more upbeat, which I think shows a maturity in myself. I’m definitely more confident as a songwriter and I feel more confident in the studio.”

You can catch Ladyhawke live on her Wild Things tour this July. Tickets are available from Ladyhawke’s website.

TOUR DATES

Thursday 14th July – The Zoo, Brisbane

Friday 15th July – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Saturday 16th July – Howler, Melbourne

Leave a Reply

